Uncategorized

Camp NaNoWriMo

Hey there!

So, as my second post on this new blog of mine (two in one day! I’m on a roll), I’m going to talk about an event starting in three days: Camp NaNoWriMo.

camp_nano_logo

Tada! It’s a pretty exciting thing. Now, most of us writers know of National Novel Writing Month, but not as many know of the other months where this event goes on. The first time I participated in Camp NaNo was June of 2012. I don’t think I’ll ever forget that month, because I finished my novel in ten days, then woke up a few hours later to find ash on my windowsill. That’s when I searched the news and discovered the mountains were on fire. It was an… interesting month (well, couple of months), to say the least, but it was still a lot of fun.

So, since this year one of the Camps is in April, I’ve decided to try my hand at it, despite midterms and finals coming up. And, to test myself even more, instead of trying to beat it in less than six days, which is my record for Camp, I’m going to work on two novels at once.

The first one is a story I’ve been working on for about a year now. It’s unnamed as of yet, but it centers around a young woman named Elin who isn’t completely human. She’s a race of human called Dragon-kin, who are people blessed by the dragon gods with magic and the ability to talk to and tame dragons. Her people used to rule the world, but when she was ten the “normals” rebelled and killed many of their people, and practically enslaved the rest. As a twenty year old, Elin lives her life hiding, afraid of the people on the street who stare at her as though she’s pure evil, when one night she’s given a dream – a summon from a dragon elder which she can’t ignore. With the help of two unlikely allies, she has to leave her home and travel across the country to find the dragon elder, risking being murdered, jailed, or even full on enslavement.

Kind of interesting. I’m going to have fun writing it. I might make a few posts about it since my entirety of April will be dedicated to writing it.

Well, and one more.

The second one is going to be co-written with a friend of mine, and it’s about two young girls in high school who have issues, and have to suffer through it, with only each other as friends. It’s… a bit more complicated than that, but it’s still in the works so I don’t want to talk too much about it.

Anyway, I’m so excited for April to start. NaNo’s always so exhilarating. Anyone out there participating? Do you have any things you do to help get through the month? I like to lock myself in my room with lemonade and goldfish and just write away. Not a very good tactic for school and socialization, but it helps me get those words out.

I think NaNo is such a good way to just get people writing. Even if you don’t get all 50,000 words in the month, trying is such a huge step. Especially during Camp NaNo where the “rules” are less strict and you can work on older projects, or scripts, or songs, or poems. Whatever you like.

Anyone have any thoughts about Camp NaNoWriMo?

~Linnea

Have a comment?

