personal · Writing

Blood Moons and Writing Multiple Books

0413-blood-moon-eclipse_full_600

I’ve decided I’m crazy. Despite having class at eleven the next day, my roommates and I went out at 11:50 PM to watch the total lunar eclipse, or the blood moon, until 1:46. In 32 degree weather (0 degrees Celsius). But I have to admit it was worth it. Seeing the moon slowly covered by the shadow of the earth, and then shade blood orange over the course of the hour and forty minutes. The beauty of it was immense, and I think a perfect way to start Passover. Did anyone else see it? If so what did you think?

Anyway! Back to topic of writing~ While the blood moon gave me plenty of inspiration for a scene in the sequel to Eri’r Konhea, I feel like talking about focus today. Over the past couple of weeks,¬†people have asked me a lot about my writing. Friends at school, new people on the NaNoWriMo site, and even curious cousins who I don’t talk to often. For some reason they’re always surprised to find out I have a little over forty stories going, and the biggest question I get is “how do you keep them all separate?”

Well… I have no idea, to be honest. It just happens. When I think of my stories, I can easily switch from one to the other, changing characters, setting, mood, and even genre. Right now, outside of Camp NaNo, I’m working simultaneously on four stories: Dog Days, Rock, the unnamed sequel to Childhood, and Namida. I write a chapter in one, then move to the next, and so on, and somehow I don’t get them confused.

I never really thought about this, though, until someone said they were jealous of me for being able to do that. My response to them was, “Why? I hate it.” And I do. I hate how my brain jumps around and never lets me work on one thing at a time. If I try, I end up losing all focus and can’t work on the story for months. Even years at times. Whereas, I know people who can write a novel a year. It’s been two years since I finished Childhood, and nothing has gotten even close since.

Writing multiple books at once can be really cool, and so can getting a book a year out, but it doesn’t mean anything if you aren’t having fun, or if the quality of the work is ruined. Some people write best when they work on multiple books, some when they write only one. Some work best writing fast, others taking their time.

It’s never good to compare yourself to someone else when it comes to writing. The most important thing is you have fun writing, and do what works best for you.

Someone once told me I was jealous of her, because she was published and I wasn’t. It got me thinking. No, I’m not published yet, but I have many years, and I’m doing what works best for me. Four books at once, editing like a sloth, and moving at my own pace. Just like everyone else should.

Nothing really huge or about how to write this time. Just something that was on my mind. Anyone have any thoughts on this? What do you do when you write?

~Linnea

2 thoughts on “Blood Moons and Writing Multiple Books

Have a comment?

