Writing

Letting Go

Hello! Sorry I haven’t posted. Life’s been kind of hectic recently as I’ve found a job and I’m in the middle of a revision of Elephant and The First Nine. So I’ve not had much time or energy to actually come on and write my three posts a week. This one is a day early, but after this and tomorrow I’ll be back to my normal posting!

Anyway, so today I woke up and the first thing I saw on my news feed is JK Rowling writing a short story about Harry Potter. I thought it was interesting, so I read the article. At the very bottom was a poll asking if she should write another Harry Potter book and most of the people answered “Yes.”

I, however, answered no. Not because I don’t love Harry Potter, because I do with all my heart, but because it’s over. The book series has ended, the story has ended, and while there’s probably more she could write about, why should she? It was never Lily or James’ story. It was never about them as adults. Always, and I mean always, was Harry Potter about the prophecy. About Harry and Voldemort and now it’s done.

But people are afraid of things ending. They’re afraid of letting go. Harry Potter dominated our culture for most of my life. I was six when I read the first book, and after that it was everywhere. You couldn’t escape it. Then all of a sudden it ended. No more books, just a strange website, and now a theme park. It still plays a huge roll in our society and our life, but it’s not the same. People don’t like that.

It’s like when I finished Elephant. I had a lot of readers complain to me about how I should continue, and how I ended it in the weirdest place, and how they didn’t want it to be over. But it was over. Things end. Stories end. Even life ends.

It’s not a bad thing. People hear the word “end” and they automatically associate it with a negative connotation. However, if things never ended, where would there be room for the new?

Writer’s have the same problem. I was talking to a friend on one of my websites (critique circle), and they were trying to make it sound like the book they finished had no good qualities. But the thing is? They finished the book. They decided to stop. I know so many authors who are unable to do that. Going back to Harry Potter, just look at some of the later books. They’re so long! Writer’s done like to end things, just like readers don’t like to see them ended.

It’s not bad for things to end. In fact, it’s good, sometimes. As my dad likes to say, you should always know when to stop, and in the case of Harry Potter, I think she needs to stop. His story is over, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

In the words of our ice queen, Elsa:

let_it_go_by_impala99-d740xws

~Linnea

3 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. I could see another book happening. The thing I would explore more isn’t the characters but the evil element, Voldemort himself. But it is also fine that it ended.

  2. Great post!! I’m running into that with a few of my stories (however, I am no where NEAR finishing any of them) even with just THINKING about them ending. It’ll be sad when I do eventually let go of them, but I have faith in them all the same. So, I guess I can’t have a whole lot of personal experience with it, but I do agree with you in that you do need to let characters and stories go. And you ever DO want to return to them, you can, simply by reading them again. 🙂

Have a comment?

