revising

Why I Can’t Revise

I’ve been in China for three months now. I’ve gained much knowledge about this country and invaluable information for both life, and for The First Nine. I’ve been to some epic cool places, met some awesome people, experienced food I never thought I’d try, and experienced more than one awkward situation.

But one thing I have not done, is write.

I have seven completed novels. Seven. First drafts are complete. All ready to be revised. But no matter what I do, I can’t seem to revise them. Ask me to go on another round with TFN? I’m there. I can do that in two weeks. Ask me to revise Call of the Elder? I’m on chapter 3 and it’s taken me two months.

I don’t understand why. But I think I’m starting to figure it out.

Before I’d finished any of my novels, all I did was write. I created words from nothing and formed them into a story. I love doing that, and I miss doing that. Then, when I finished Elephant, and TFN, I had to do the same thing all over again. But this time the story was already down. So instead of creating a story, I was just rewriting it.

That was difficult, and that was stressful. But I managed. I got a second draft of Elephant and TFN.

Then I realized things become much easier. I didn’t have to rewrite every line in TFN. I could go through and only change a word here or there. And with every passing draft, it’s become easier. Because that’s how editing works. But when I look at the other books that need work, I don’t want to go back to the initial revise. I don’t want to go back to where I have to create everything.

I got so used to easy revisions that it’s been a struggle to go back to the beginning again.

But I’m going to force myself to. I’m going to force myself to revise COTE. I’m going to force myself to finish my Dystopian trilogy. I’m going to force myself to stop working on TFN and do something else for the first time in a long time.

It’s going to be great.

Anyone else find they have this problem?

~Linnea

 

Have a comment?

